TDLI Summer School on Computational Astrophysics

May 15-24, 2019

The Tsung-Dao Lee Institute (TDLI) in Shanghai, China, is organising a series of Summer Schools in the field of Computational Astrophysics. This 3rd School in the series will be on Radiative Transfer, one of the most challenging yet ubiquitous pieces of physics. In particular as multi-messenger astrophysics gains popularity, being able to actually decipher the message is indispensable.

The 2019 TDLI Summer School on Computational Astrophysics will take place from May 15 to 24, 2019 in the Tsung-Dao Lee Institute (TDLI) on the Minhang Campus of Shanghai Jiao Tong University in Shanghai, China. Prof. D. John Hillier from University of Pittsburgh, USA will be the lecturer. The main goal of this School is to teach students how to understand, use, and write radiative transfer codes. Prof. Hillier's expertise is in stellar atmospheres and stellar outflows. He is developer of the publicly available radiative transfer code CMFGEN, for which he will also provide a brief "boot camp" as part of these lectures.

The School is designed for graduate students with significant research experience in astrophysics and beginning postdoctoral researchers. Interested applicant should ask his/her research advisor to send a recommendation letter to Professors Alexander Heger ( and
Yong-Zhong Qian (

Applications received prior to April 14, 2019 will be given full consideration.

Approximately 30 participants will be accepted. Attendance for the entire duration of the School is required. The TDLI will arrange lodging (two students per room) for the nights of May 14-24, 2019 and lunches on lecture days of the School for all participants. There is a registration fee of RMB 4,000 or US $600, which covers lodging, lunches, reception, banquet, and coffee breaks.

For pre-registration, please click here

Scientific Organizing Committee

Alexander Heger (Co-Chair, Monash University, Australia)
Yipeng Jing (Shanghai Jiao Tong University)
D. John Hillier (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
Bernhard Mueller (Monash University, Australia)
Yong-Zhong Qian (Co-Chair, SJTU/University of Minnesota, USA)

Local Organizing Committee

Projjwal Banerjee (Shanghai Jiao Tong University)
Li Fu (Tsung-Dao Lee Institute)
Sheng Li (Tsung-Dao Lee Institute)
Mengzhu Lu (Tsung-Dao Lee Institute)
Jialin Yang (Tsung-Dao Lee Institute)
Jinghua Shi (Tsung-Dao Lee Institute)


Prof. D. John Hillier (University of Pittsburgh, USA)

Teaching Assistants

Brian Flores (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
Kevin Wilk (University of Pittsburgh, USA)






Tsung-Dao Lee Institute

Tel: 021-54743830